OpenArt vs Runway (2026)
Partner link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our order or verdicts. Affiliate disclosure
Verdict
- Pick OpenArt if in openart vs runway you want one subscription for images, video, voiceover, music and 3D, with 100+ models and saved characters; Starter is $14 monthly, $13 billed yearly.
- Pick Runway if you want a free plan with 125 credits to start, mobile apps and an API for developers; Standard is $15 per month, or $12 billed yearly, for 625 credits.
- Price: OpenArt Starter $14, Plus $34, Pro $56, Wonder $240 per seat monthly ($13, $27, $44, $175 yearly); Runway Standard $15, Pro $35, Max $95 ($12, $28, $76 yearly). All USD.

OpenArt
Online studio for AI images, video, audio and 3D worlds with 100+ models
From $14/mo · Free trial
Try OpenArt free
Runway
AI platform for generating and editing video, images, and audio.
From $15/mo · Free plan
Try Runway freeSide by side
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Category | AI Video | AI Video |
| Price from (monthly billing) | $14/mo | $15/mo |
| Lowest annual-billing price | $13/mo | $12/mo |
| Plans | Starter, Plus, Pro, Wonder | Free, Standard, Pro, Max |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | 40 free credits when you sign up | not published |
| API | not published | Yes |
| Platforms | Web | Web, iOS, Android |
| Key limits | Starter: 4,000 credits / month; 8 parallel generations; watermark-free · Plus: 12,000 credits / month; 16 parallel generations; commercial use rights; add credits as needed | Free: 125 one-time credits, 5GB asset storage · Standard: 625 credits /mo, Up to 3 projects, 20GB storage |
| Pricing page | Official pricing page checked 2026-10-25 | Official pricing page checked 2026-10-24 |
Cost for 1 / 5 / 25 seats and plan tier
OpenArt: seats x per-seat monthly price. Runway: plan price per month; the cards do not say the price is per seat. Credits as stated: OpenArt 4,000 to 106,000, Runway 625 to 9,500.
| seats and plan tier | OpenArt | Runway |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | $14 monthly · $13/mo billed yearly (Starter, 4,000 credits) | $15 monthly · $12/mo billed yearly (Standard, 625 credits) |
| 5 | $170 monthly (5 x $34) · $135/mo yearly (5 x $27), Plus | $35 monthly (Pro, 2,250 credits) · $28/mo yearly; seat count not stated |
| 25 | $6,000 monthly (25 x $240) · $4,375/mo yearly (25 x $175), Wonder | $95 monthly (Max, 9,500 credits) · $76/mo yearly; seat count not stated |
OpenArt's prices are per seat and Runway's cards are silent on seats, so the multi-seat rows overstate the comparison for a team. Credits are not interchangeable: video, image and audio generations draw them differently in each product. Runway Free has 125 one-time credits; OpenArt gives 40 sign-up credits.
Which one to choose
Choose OpenArt if…
- You want images, video, voiceovers in 30+ languages, music and 3D worlds under one subscription.
- You reuse the same character across generations and want it saved and tagged.
- You want to drive it from Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor through MCP & CLI.
Choose Runway if…
- You want to start free with 125 one-time credits and 5GB of storage.
- You need dedicated iOS and Android apps next to the web app.
- You build media applications and want API access, or work on robotics simulation.
Pros and cons
OpenArt: Pros
- 100+ image, video and audio models on paid plans
- Director builds storyboards and shots through chat
- Videos up to 15 seconds and up to 4K
- After Effects plugin and MCP & CLI option
OpenArt: Cons
- No permanent free plan; only 40 sign-up credits
- Prices are per seat
- Commercial rights are not listed on Starter
- Extra Credit add-on costs $15 per month and needs Plus
Runway: Pros
- Free plan with 125 one-time credits
- Web, iOS and Android access plus an API
- Custom voice clone on Pro and 4K upscaling
- Max lets unused credits roll over for one month
Runway: Cons
- Standard and Pro credits do not roll over
- Free credits are one-time and storage is 5GB
- Credit limits cap generation volume
- Projects are capped at 3, 5 and 10 on paid plans
Head to head
Breadth versus plan simplicity
OpenArt packages many generation tools: Director for chat-driven storyboards, image editing on one canvas, reusable characters, OpenArt Worlds for navigable 3D, audio export as WAV or MP3. Runway lists video, image and audio generation, 4K upscaling, background removal, custom voice clones, an API and a robotics toolkit. OpenArt reads as a creator studio; Runway spans creators and developers.
Credits and tiers
OpenArt's monthly credits climb from 4,000 on Starter through 12,000 on Plus and 24,000 on Pro to 106,000 on Wonder, with parallel generations of 8, 16, 32 and 32. Runway's climb from 625 through 2,250 to 9,500, with storage of 20GB, 100GB and 500GB. The numbers are not comparable one to one, so check what a clip costs in each.
Free start and usage rights
Runway's Free plan is documented on its pricing page. OpenArt's pricing page lists no permanent free plan, only 40 credits at sign-up mentioned on its features page. OpenArt lists commercial use rights on Plus, Pro and Wonder, not Starter; Runway's cards do not discuss commercial rights, so verify them with the vendor.
Frequently asked questions
Is OpenArt cheaper than Runway?
Roughly the same at the entry. OpenArt Starter is $14 per seat per month, or $13 billed yearly, for 4,000 credits; Runway Standard is $15, or $12 billed yearly, for 625. Credits are not equal across products, and OpenArt charges per seat while Runway's cards do not state it.
Does OpenArt have a free plan like Runway?
OpenArt's pricing page lists no permanent free plan; its features page says you can start free with 40 credits when you sign up. Runway lists a Free plan with 125 one-time credits and 5GB of asset storage. Neither renews monthly free credits.
OpenArt vs Runway: which is better for AI video?
OpenArt states videos up to 15 seconds and up to 4K from a prompt or reference image, plus a chat-based Director for storyboards. Runway lists text-to-video, image-to-video and 4K upscaling. The cards do not allow a quality verdict, so test each free allowance.
Can I use the output commercially?
OpenArt lists commercial use rights on Plus, Pro and Wonder but not on Starter, so the $14 plan may not fit client work. Runway's cards do not describe commercial rights, so confirm the terms on its official pages before using outputs in paid projects.
Do both have apps, API or agent integrations?
Runway lists web access, iOS and Android apps and an API for developers. OpenArt states web use only, with an MCP & CLI option for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor, and an Adobe After Effects plugin. Pick based on whether you need mobile apps or agent connections.
Other comparisons and alternatives
Explore further
How we check
Plans, prices, trials and limits in the table are copied from each tool's card, which is built from the vendor's official pages and dated. The page is only as fresh as the older of the two checks above. How we review.
Sources: OpenArt official site, Runway official site.
Data is collected and checked by AI agents from official vendor pages; the owner is responsible for the project.
Partner link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our order or verdicts. Affiliate disclosure