Comparison

Grammarly vs Rytr (2026)

Partner link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our order or verdicts. Affiliate disclosure

Verdict

  • Pick Grammarly if rytr vs grammarly is for you a question of proofreading: it works inside Slack, Gmail, Google Docs and Word, and its Pro plan gives 2,000 AI prompts per member per month.
  • Pick Rytr if you want drafting in 38 languages and 22 tones, or its relationship-manager side: briefs, follow-ups and tracked promises from Gmail, Outlook, Slack and Google Calendar.
  • Price: Grammarly Free (€0) then Pro €12 per member per month; Rytr Free ($0), Lite $9, Personal $19, Pro $49. Grammarly prices in EUR and Rytr in USD, so the totals are not comparable.

Grammarly

AI writing assistance for individuals and teams to improve clarity, tone, and correctness.

From €12/mo · Free trial

Try Grammarly free

Rytr

AI relationship manager and writing assistant for professionals.

From $9/mo · Free plan

Try Rytr free

Side by side

Data from the tool cards (official pages); «not published» = the vendor does not state it
FeatureGrammarlyRytr
CategoryAI WritingAI Writing
Price from (monthly billing)€12/mo$9/mo
Lowest annual-billing pricenot publishednot published
PlansFree, Pro, EnterpriseFree, Lite, Personal, Pro
Free planYesYes
Free trialTry for freenot published
APIYesnot published
Platformsslack, apiWeb, iOS, Android, Chrome extension, slack
Key limitsFree: 100 prompts / month · Pro: 2,000 prompts / member / monthFree: 10,000 characters per month, 1 connected source, 25 active relationships, 25 Engage actions per month, 3 person research runs · Lite: Unlimited characters per month
Pricing pageOfficial pricing page
checked 2026-10-24
Official pricing page
checked 2026-10-21

Cost for 1 / 5 / 25 people

Grammarly: members × €12 per month (Pro). Rytr: USD plan price by limits, not by seat; the card does not state per-seat pricing. Currencies differ, so no combined total is shown.

peopleGrammarlyRytr
1€12 per month (Pro) · Free tier €0 with 100 prompts$9 (Lite) to $19 (Personal) per month · Free tier $0
5€60 per month (5 × €12)Seat pricing not published; $19 Personal or $49 Pro per plan
25€300 per month (25 × €12) · Enterprise is customSeat pricing not published; $49 Pro is the top listed plan

Grammarly is in euros and Rytr in dollars, so do not subtract one from the other. Rytr's tiers are sized by connected sources and active relationships (up to 1,000 on Pro), not by writers. Rytr's card mentions a 20% discount for yearly billing and Grammarly's lists no annual price.

Which one to choose

Choose Grammarly if…

  • Your main need is catching spelling and grammar mistakes as you type in the apps you already use.
  • You want tone adjustment, full-sentence rewrites and plagiarism or AI-text detection in one assistant.
  • A team needs custom roles, data loss prevention or unlimited prompts through an Enterprise agreement.

Choose Rytr if…

  • You write marketing copy such as emails, blog posts, captions and ads, using over 40 use cases.
  • You juggle many client conversations and want meeting briefs and follow-up drafts in your own voice.
  • You want a cheap first paid step: Lite at $9 per month with unlimited characters.

Pros and cons

Grammarly: Pros

  • Free plan at €0 with basic corrections and 100 AI prompts per month
  • Works in Slack, Gmail, Google Docs and Microsoft Word
  • Pro raises AI prompts to 2,000 per member per month
  • Free trial of Pro, with a reminder email two days before it ends

Grammarly: Cons

  • Full-sentence rewrites and plagiarism detection sit behind the paid plan
  • Pro caps AI generation at 2,000 prompts per member
  • Enterprise pricing is not public
  • No annual price is listed on the card

Rytr: Pros

  • Supports 38 languages and 22 tones
  • Lite gives unlimited characters for $9 per month
  • Daily briefings, meeting preparation and follow-up drafts
  • Browser extension plus a 20% discount for yearly billing

Rytr: Cons

  • Free plan is limited to 10,000 characters and 1 connected source
  • Free and Lite allow only one connected source
  • Personal caps active relationships at 250, Pro at 1,000
  • No free trial listed beyond the Free plan

Head to head

Two different products under one keyword

Grammarly is a writing assistant that corrects mistakes, adjusts tone, rewrites sentences and generates text across the apps you already have open. Rytr as described on its card is broader and odder: an AI relationship manager and writing assistant that reads your Gmail, Outlook, Slack and Calendar to prepare briefs, track promises and draft follow-ups, with a separate content-writing side. Check which of those two jobs you are shopping for.

Limits and how they are measured

Grammarly measures AI by prompts: 100 per month on Free, 2,000 per member on Pro, unlimited on Enterprise. Rytr measures by characters on the lower tiers (10,000 on Free, unlimited on Lite) and by connected sources, active relationships, Engage actions and person research runs on the higher ones. For a solo writer, the character allowance is the simpler one to reason about; for a salesperson, relationship counts are.

Price and currency

Grammarly Pro is €12 per member per month and Enterprise is by quote. Rytr runs from $0 to $49 per month in four steps. Because the cards use euros and dollars, a straight price ranking would be misleading; convert at your own rate if cost is decisive. Both have a Free plan and both are a no-card or low-risk way to test.

Frequently asked questions

Is Rytr cheaper than Grammarly?

Rytr's entry paid plan, Lite, is $9 per month, and Personal is $19. Grammarly Pro is €12 per member per month. The currencies differ, so the cards do not support a direct ranking. Both offer a Free plan, so you can test the workflow at no cost.

Does Grammarly have a free plan?

Yes. Grammarly Free costs €0 per month and includes basic mistake corrections along with 100 AI prompts per month. A free trial is also available for the Pro plan, with an email reminder two days before it ends. Rytr Free offers 10,000 characters per month and 1 connected source.

Which is better for writing blog posts, Rytr or Grammarly?

Rytr lists over 40 writing use cases including emails, blog posts, social captions and ads, across 38 languages and 22 tones. Grammarly focuses on correcting and rewriting what you write, plus generating text from prompts, within apps like Google Docs. Choose Rytr for first drafts, Grammarly for polish.

Which has more AI usage on the paid plan?

Grammarly Pro allows 2,000 AI prompts per member per month and Enterprise is unlimited. Rytr Lite has unlimited characters at $9 per month. The units differ, prompts versus characters, so the cards do not show which gives you more actual output.

Which tool works inside Gmail and Slack?

Both mention them. Grammarly integrates with Slack, Gmail, Google Docs and Microsoft Word for real-time suggestions. Rytr connects to Gmail, Outlook, Slack and Google Calendar to gather context for briefs and follow-ups, and offers a browser extension for web-based workspaces.

Other comparisons and alternatives

Explore further

How we check

Plans, prices, trials and limits in the table are copied from each tool's card, which is built from the vendor's official pages and dated. The page is only as fresh as the older of the two checks above. How we review.

Sources: Grammarly, Rytr.

Data is collected and checked by AI agents from official vendor pages; the owner is responsible for the project.

Partner link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our order or verdicts. Affiliate disclosure