
NordLayer review: Cloud-based business VPN, access control and threat protection, priced per user
Cloud-based business VPN, access control and threat protection, priced per user
Custom (contact sales), free plan: no, prices checked on October 20, 2026.
Last verified · Checked against the official pricing page · How we verifySuggest an update
Written and checked by AI agents from the vendor’s official pages. How we verify
Partner link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our order or verdicts. Affiliate disclosure

What NordLayer does
NordLayer is a network security platform for businesses, published by Nord Security. It combines a business VPN with access control, web protection and monitoring, managed from a single control panel. Teams can connect through shared gateways in 40+ countries, or through Virtual Private Gateways with dedicated IP addresses that only the organization's own users can reach.
The feature list includes a cloud firewall for network segmentation, device posture checks that restrict non-compliant devices, IP allowlisting, split tunneling, single sign-on and multi-factor authentication. Three VPN protocols are offered, one of them NordLynx. Client apps exist for Windows, MacOS, Android, iOS and Linux, and a browser extension is available. Integrations include SentinelOne and Jamf Cloud, plus identity providers such as Okta, Entra ID and JumpCloud.
Pricing is per user, and no free plan is listed. The pricing page shows Lite at $8, Core at $11 and Premium at $14 per user per month, in USD, with a 5-user minimum on each. A Monthly/Yearly toggle with savings badges sits above the plans, but the page shows only one price per plan and does not name its billing period, so the figures most likely reflect yearly billing. Core and Premium also require a Server with Dedicated IP at +$40 /month. An Enterprise offer starts from $6 per user per month for teams of 200 users or more. Each plan carries a 14-day money-back guarantee.
- Business VPN with shared gateways in 40+ countries
- Virtual Private Gateways with dedicated IPs
- Cloud firewall for network segmentation
- Device posture security
- Single sign-on and multi-factor authentication
- IP allowlisting
- Site-to-site connector
- Web protection against malicious domains
Pros and cons
Pros
- Per-user plans from Lite at $8 to Premium at $14 per month
- 14-day money-back guarantee on every plan
- Apps for Windows, MacOS, Android, iOS and Linux plus a browser extension
- Cloud firewall, device posture checks and IP allowlisting are available
- SSO with Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin, Google and JumpCloud
Cons
- No free plan or free trial is listed
- Lite, Core and Premium each need at least 5 users
- Core and Premium require a Server with Dedicated IP at +$40 /month
- Lite does not include Virtual Private Gateways, Cloud Firewall or Device Posture Security
- Billing period of the shown prices is not stated; the Enterprise offer needs 200 users minimum
Our take
NordLayer suits businesses that want a managed VPN and access-control layer without buying hardware, especially teams that already use an identity provider such as Okta or Entra ID. It fits less well for very small groups, since each standard plan needs at least 5 users, and for anyone who wants a free tier or free trial, because only a money-back guarantee is offered. Lite covers basic web protection, while the firewall and device posture features sit in higher tiers or add-ons, so the real cost depends on which controls you need. The pricing page does not state the billing period of the shown prices, so confirm it before buying.
Comparisons and lists with NordLayer
Coming soon
Coming soon — we are writing comparisons that include NordLayer.
NordLayer pricing
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing (per month) | Limits / what’s included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lite per user | — | $8 | Price shown next to the Monthly/Yearly toggle with a SAVE badge, read as the yearly-billed per-month price; the monthly-billed price is not shown. 5 users minimum; 14-day money-back guarantee |
| Core per user | — | $11 | Price shown next to the Monthly/Yearly toggle with a SAVE badge, read as the yearly-billed per-month price; the monthly-billed price is not shown. 5 users minimum; Server with Dedicated IP +$40 /month required |
| Premium per user | — | $14 | Price shown next to the Monthly/Yearly toggle with a SAVE badge, read as the yearly-billed per-month price; the monthly-billed price is not shown. 5 users minimum; Server with Dedicated IP +$40 /month required |
| Enterprise offer from $6 per user per month; billing term not stated | — | — | 200 users minimum; starts with Lite plan capabilities; price may vary if a higher plan or additional features are selected |
Free trial: none listed. Free plan: no.
Prices checked on on the official NordLayer pricing page. “—” = not published.
All NordLayer plans, limits and annual prices →
Frequently asked questions
How much does NordLayer cost?
The pricing page shows Lite at $8, Core at $11 and Premium at $14 per user per month, charged in USD. A Monthly/Yearly toggle with savings badges is shown, but the page does not name the billing period of these figures, which most likely reflect yearly billing. Core and Premium also require a Server with Dedicated IP at +$40 /month. Tax is added separately.
Is there a free plan or free trial?
No free plan or free trial is shown on the official pages. Every plan has a 14-day money-back guarantee instead.
Is there a minimum number of users?
Yes. Lite, Core and Premium each require 5 users minimum, and the Enterprise offer requires 200 users minimum.
Which platforms does NordLayer support?
The pricing page lists apps for Windows, MacOS, Android, iOS and Linux. The features page also mentions a browser extension and manual configuration.
Does NordLayer work with identity providers?
Yes. The pricing page lists SSO with Okta, Entra ID, OneLogin, Google and JumpCloud, and user provisioning with Microsoft Entra ID and Okta.
Recently verified in Legal & Finance
Add an AGIPicks badge to your site
The badge shows NordLayer’s verification status on AGIPicks and links to this page. Light/dark and compact versions: badges.
Suggest an update
Wrong price, outdated fact or a tool that shut down? Are you the vendor and disagree with this page? Tell us, ideally with a link to the official page. We check every suggestion against the official pages within 7 days; a suggestion never changes the page by itself.