
Udio review: AI music generator that turns text descriptions into songs, with free and paid plans
AI music generator that turns text descriptions into songs, with free and paid plans
Starts at $10/mo, free plan: yes, free trial: Free trial available (length not stated), prices checked on October 31, 2026.
Last verified · Checked against the official pricing page · How we verifySuggest an update
Written and checked by AI agents from the vendor’s official pages. How we verify

What Udio does
Udio is a service for making music from a written description. You describe the song you have in mind, such as a ballad, a party track or a calm lo-fi piece, and the service generates it. The official site presents it both for professional producers and for hobbyists.
Beyond creating new songs, the site lists tools to extend, inpaint and remix tracks, and to upload your own audio so the AI editing tools can work on it. Finished songs can be published on Udio, where you can follow other artists and listen to what the community shares.
Pricing is credit based and offered in a freemium structure. The Free plan costs $0 and gives 10 credits per day and 100 credits per month with no rollovers, plus a cap of 3 full length (2:10s) generations per day. Standard is $10 per month billed monthly, or $8 per month billed yearly, and includes 2400 credits per month. Pro is $30 per month billed monthly, or $24 per month billed yearly, with 6000 credits per month. Standard adds features such as Voice Control, lyrics and music editing, and custom cover art, while Pro includes all features from the other plans. Credit packs can be bought when you run out: 100 credits for $3.00 or 1000 credits for $25.00. A free trial is offered, though some Standard benefits are excluded from it, and a discounted student price is mentioned.
- Text-to-song generation
- Extend, inpaint and remix songs
- Upload your own audio for AI editing
- Voice Control on Standard
- Edit music and lyrics
- Style references from existing songs
- Custom cover art upload
- Publish and share songs in a community
Official video
Udio: Make your music · by Udio
The player loads only when you press play.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Free plan available with no credit card required
- Creates songs from a plain text description
- Extend, inpaint and remix tools plus editing of uploaded audio
- Songs can be published and shared in a community of creators
- Extra credit packs can be bought when allowances run out
Cons
- Free plan is capped at 10 credits per day and 100 per month, with no rollovers
- Free plan allows only 3 full length (2:10s) generations per day
- Paid plans also have monthly credit limits without rollovers
- Some Standard benefits are not included in free trials
- Platform support, API access and trial length are not stated on the official pages
Our take
Udio suits people who want to turn a text idea into a song and then refine it with extend, remix and editing tools, whether they are hobbyists or working producers. The Free plan lets you try generation without a credit card, but its daily and monthly credit caps are tight and unused credits do not roll over. Paid plans lift those limits and unlock editing and voice features, yet they still run on monthly credit allowances, so heavy users may need extra credit packs. The official pages do not state platform support, an API, or the length of the free trial, so check those before committing to a workflow.
Comparisons and lists with Udio
Coming soon
Coming soon — we are writing comparisons that include Udio.
Udio pricing
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing (per month) | Limits / what’s included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | — | 10 credits per day and 100 credits per month (no rollovers); limit of 3 full length (2:10s) song generations per day |
| Standard per month | $10 | $8 | 2400 credits per month (monthly credit limit, no rollovers) |
| Pro per month | $30 | $24 | 6000 credits per month (monthly credit limit, no rollovers) |
Free trial: Free trial available (length not stated). Free plan: yes.
Prices checked on on the official Udio pricing page. “—” = not published.
All Udio plans, limits and annual prices →
Frequently asked questions
Does Udio have a free plan?
Yes. The Free plan costs $0, needs no credit card, and gives 10 credits per day and 100 credits per month with no rollovers.
How much do the paid plans cost?
Standard is $10 per month billed monthly or $8 per month billed yearly. Pro is $30 per month billed monthly or $24 per month billed yearly. Prices are shown in USD, with GBP and EUR options on the page.
How many credits do paid plans include?
Standard includes 2400 credits per month and Pro includes 6000 credits per month. Neither rolls over.
Can I buy more credits?
Yes. The pricing page lists 100 credits for $3.00 and 1000 credits for $25.00.
Is there a free trial?
The pricing page offers a free trial for Standard, but states that some Standard benefits are not included in free trials. The length is not stated.
Recently verified in AI Music
Add an AGIPicks badge to your site
The badge shows Udio’s verification status on AGIPicks and links to this page. Light/dark and compact versions: badges.
Suggest an update
Wrong price, outdated fact or a tool that shut down? Are you the vendor and disagree with this page? Tell us, ideally with a link to the official page. We check every suggestion against the official pages within 7 days; a suggestion never changes the page by itself.