Mercury review: Online business banking with cards, bill pay, invoicing and accounting sync

Online business banking with cards, bill pay, invoicing and accounting sync

Starts at $2/mo, free plan: yes, prices checked on November 2, 2026.

Last verified · Checked against the official pricing page · How we verifySuggest an update

Written and checked by AI agents from the vendor’s official pages. How we verify

Visit Mercury (partner link, opens in a new tab)Try Mercury free

Partner link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our order or verdicts. Affiliate disclosure

Mercury home page

What Mercury does

Provides online business checking and savings accounts, with virtual cards, bill pay, invoicing and accounting sync (QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite) in one place.

Mercury is an online banking and finance platform for businesses. According to its homepage, you can apply online for checking and savings accounts with zero minimums, and the vendor advertises a 10-minute application. Mercury describes itself as a fintech company rather than an FDIC-insured bank.

The homepage lists virtual cards that can be created on demand, a credit card with 1.5% cashback on spend, and receipts that can be emailed or uploaded. For payables, it describes AI that reads bills, fills in the details and remembers past recipients. It also covers manual and automatic invoices, and accounting sync with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite. Sending USD by wire, ACH, check or real-time payment costs $0. The pricing page also mentions a Payments API and third-party integrations such as HRIS, payroll, Stripe and Slack.

Pricing is freemium. The pricing page says banking services and essential tools are always $0/mo, and the base plan, Mercury, is $0 per month. Mercury Plus is listed at $29.90 per month and Mercury Pro at $299 per month. Both sit next to an annual-pricing toggle, so the page does not make clear whether those figures are billed monthly or yearly. Two add-ons are listed: Mercury Books at $35/mo and Mercury Payroll at $100/mo plus $50 per person paid per month. Both are waived until Dec 31, 2026. Mercury Treasury needs a $250K Mercury balance. Non-USD international wires carry a 1% currency exchange fee and non-USD card transactions a 3% fee. No free trial is mentioned.

  • Business checking and savings with zero minimums
  • On-demand virtual cards
  • Credit card with 1.5% cashback
  • AI-assisted bill pay
  • Manual and automatic invoicing
  • Accounting sync with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite
  • Receipts by email or upload
  • Payments API
  • Mercury Treasury yield for eligible balances

Official video

Before launching Mercury Payroll, we asked founders at SF Tech Week about their first hire. · by Mercury ·
The player loads only when you press play.

Good for / Not for

Good for

  • Businesses that want a bank account with zero minimums and a $0 base plan
  • Teams that pay or send money in USD by wire, ACH, check or real-time payment, which costs $0
  • Companies that want bills, invoices and card receipts tied to QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite

Not for

  • Businesses that often transact in non-USD currencies, because of the 1% wire and 3% card exchange fees
  • Businesses wanting Treasury yield with a balance under $250K

How to start

  1. Apply online for a business checking or savings account; the homepage advertises a 10-minute application. source

  2. Start on the base Mercury plan at $0 per month; Plus and Pro are listed as paid plans. source

  3. Create virtual cards as needed and email or upload receipts for card transactions. source

  4. Sync with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite for accounting. source

Limits and gotchas

  • Treasury is unlocked only with a $250K Mercury balance. source
  • Non-USD international wires carry a 1% currency exchange fee; non-USD card transactions carry a 3% fee. source
  • Mercury Books ($35/mo) and Mercury Payroll ($100/mo plus $50 per person paid per month) are waived only until Dec 31, 2026. source
  • Federal and state 1099 NEC & MISC filing costs $5/filing. source
  • The Plus plan charges $1 per transaction for invoices paid by ACH debit. source
  • Mercury describes itself as a fintech company rather than an FDIC-insured bank. source

From the official site and docs of Mercury, checked on November 2, 2026.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Base Mercury plan is $0 per month, with checking and savings accounts that have zero minimums
  • Sending USD by wire, ACH, check or real-time payment costs $0
  • Virtual cards can be created on demand, and a credit card offers 1.5% cashback on spend
  • Accounting sync with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite, plus a Payments API
  • Mobile apps for iOS and Android are linked from the homepage

Cons

  • Mercury Plus ($29.90 per month) and Mercury Pro ($299 per month) have an unclear billing period on the pricing page
  • Mercury Treasury needs a $250K Mercury balance
  • Non-USD international wires carry a 1% currency exchange fee, and non-USD card transactions a 3% fee
  • Mercury Books ($35/mo) and Mercury Payroll ($100/mo plus $50 per person paid per month) are waived only until Dec 31, 2026
  • Mercury describes itself as a fintech company rather than an FDIC-insured bank

Our take

Mercury fits businesses that want a banking account with no monthly fee and the usual tools around it: cards, bill pay, invoicing and accounting sync. The base plan is $0 per month, and sending USD by wire, ACH, check or real-time payment costs nothing, according to the pricing page. It is a weaker fit for businesses that deal often in foreign currencies, because non-USD wires carry a 1% exchange fee and non-USD card transactions 3%. Treasury needs a $250K Mercury balance, so smaller balances will not reach it. Buyers should also check the billing period for Mercury Plus and Mercury Pro before choosing, since the page does not state it clearly. The Books ($35/mo) and Payroll ($100/mo plus $50 per person paid per month) add-ons are waived only until Dec 31, 2026. Mercury says it is a fintech company rather than an FDIC-insured bank.

Coming soon

Coming soon — we are writing comparisons that include Mercury.

Mercury pricing

Mercury plans and prices (USD)
PlanMonthly billingAnnual billing (per month)Limits / what’s included
MercuryFree—Treasury is unlocked with $250K Mercury balance. Add-ons: Mercury Books $35/mo and Mercury Payroll $100/mo + $50/per person paid/mo, both waived until Dec 31, 2026.
Mercury Plus——The page lists $29.90 per month, but next to a toggle labelled 'Annual Pricing (15% off)', so it is unclear whether this is the monthly-billed or yearly-billed price. Invoice with ACH debit ($1/transaction).
Mercury Pro——The page lists $299 per month, with the same unclear billing period. Includes a relationship manager and NetSuite categorizations; invoice with ACH debit ($0/transaction).
Mercury Books$35—
Mercury Payroll$100—
9 5$2—
9 0$2—
Relationship managerFree—
Sending and receiving moneyFree—
Real-time payments InstantFree—
Checkbooks N/AFree—
Branded invoicesFree—

Free trial: none listed. Free plan: yes.
Prices checked on on the official Mercury pricing page. “—” = not published.

All Mercury plans, limits and annual prices →

Frequently asked questions

Does Mercury have a free plan?

Yes. The pricing page says banking services and essential tools are always $0/mo, and the base Mercury plan is $0 per month. No free trial is mentioned.

How much do Mercury Plus and Mercury Pro cost?

The pricing page lists Mercury Plus at $29.90 per month and Mercury Pro at $299 per month. It shows an annual-pricing toggle next to them, so it is unclear whether these are billed monthly or yearly.

What does it cost to send money or pay in other currencies?

Sending USD via wire, ACH, check and real-time payment costs $0. Non-USD international wires carry a 1% currency exchange fee, and non-USD card transactions carry a 3% fee.

What do the Books and Payroll add-ons cost?

Mercury Books is $35/mo, and Mercury Payroll is $100/mo plus $50 per person paid per month. Both are waived until Dec 31, 2026. The pricing page shows these as /mo figures and does not state a separate yearly price.

What is needed to use Mercury Treasury?

The pricing page says Treasury is unlocked with a $250K Mercury balance.

Recently verified in Automation & AI Agents

Add an AGIPicks badge to your site

The badge shows Mercury’s verification status on AGIPicks and links to this page. Light/dark and compact versions: badges.

AGIPicks badge for Mercury

Suggest an update

Wrong price, outdated fact or a tool that shut down? Are you the vendor and disagree with this page? Tell us, ideally with a link to the official page. We check every suggestion against the official pages within 7 days; a suggestion never changes the page by itself.

What is wrong?

For example the new price, the feature that changed, or the tool we should add.

The official page that shows the change.

Only we see it, to reply. It is never published.