
Codecademy review: Interactive coding, data and AI courses and career paths, with a free Basic plan
Interactive coding, data and AI courses and career paths, with a free Basic plan
Starts at €29.99/mo, free plan: yes, free trial: Free trial of Plus and Pro offered; length not stated, prices checked on October 29, 2026.
Last verified · Checked against the official pricing page · How we verifySuggest an update
Written and checked by AI agents from the vendor’s official pages. How we verify
Partner link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our order or verdicts. Affiliate disclosure

What Codecademy does
Codecademy is a learning platform for technical skills. People use it to study coding languages and subjects such as AI, data, cloud and cybersecurity, working through lessons where code is written and run directly in the browser. The vendor says over 50 million people have joined.
Content is organised as standalone courses, skill paths, career paths and certification paths that prepare learners for exams from AWS, Microsoft, CompTIA and ISC2. Further features include an AI Learning Assistant for hints and error explanations, an AI Builder where prototypes are created by describing them in natural language, portfolio projects, certificates of completion, mock interviews and a community. A mobile app exists for iOS and Android. Live bootcamps and workshops are sold separately, and teams can request a quote.
Pricing has three individual tiers. Basic is always free, with limited courses. Plus costs €14.99 per month billed yearly or €29.99 per month billed monthly. Pro costs €17.99 per month billed yearly or €35.99 per month billed monthly. Plus and Pro can be tried for free, though the pricing page does not state how long the trial lasts. Annual plans include 1 complimentary workshop. Builder credits are higher on paid tiers (3X on Plus, 6X on Pro) and renew monthly, with extra credits available to buy.
- Courses, skill paths and career paths
- Certification prep paths
- Browser-based code workspaces
- AI Learning Assistant
- Build prototypes in natural language
- Interview simulator
- Certificates of completion
- iOS and Android app
Official video
Job Search Tips: Using Handshake to Get Recruiter Attention · by Codecademy ·
The player loads only when you press play.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Free Basic plan with no stated end date, so the platform can be tried at no cost
- Code runs in the browser through workspaces, with no separate setup
- Wide structure: courses, skill paths, career paths and certification prep paths
- Pro adds interview simulator, job-readiness checker and professional certifications
- Mobile app for iOS and Android
Cons
- Basic limits courses and excludes skill, career and certification paths
- Plus and Pro cost noticeably more when billed monthly (€29.99 and €35.99) than when billed yearly
- Team pricing is not published; a quote must be requested
- Free trial length is not stated on the pricing page
- The complimentary workshop is available only on annual plans
Our take
Codecademy suits people who want structured, guided learning in the browser and are happy to pay a subscription once they outgrow the free tier. Basic lets you try the platform at no cost, but it limits courses and leaves out skill, career and certification paths. Career paths, certification prep, interview simulation and professional certifications require Pro, so job seekers should plan for the higher tier. Plus fits hobby or work-skill learning. The pricing page lists no API and no desktop apps, and the free-trial length is not given. Teams must request a quote, so they cannot compare costs upfront.
Comparisons and lists with Codecademy
Coming soon
Coming soon — we are writing comparisons that include Codecademy.
Codecademy pricing
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing (per month) | Limits / what’s included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Free | — | Limited courses; skill, career and certification paths not available; standard builder credits |
| Plus | €29.99 | €14.99 | 3X builder credits; career and certification paths not available; annual plans include 1 complimentary workshop |
| Pro | €35.99 | €17.99 | 6X builder credits; annual plans include 1 complimentary workshop |
Free trial: Free trial of Plus and Pro offered; length not stated. Free plan: yes.
Prices checked on on the official Codecademy pricing page. “—” = not published.
All Codecademy plans, limits and annual prices →
Frequently asked questions
Does Codecademy have a free plan?
Yes. The Basic plan is listed as always free, but it limits courses and does not include skill, career or certification paths.
How much do the paid plans cost?
Plus is €14.99 per month billed yearly or €29.99 per month billed monthly. Pro is €17.99 per month billed yearly or €35.99 per month billed monthly.
Is there a mobile app?
Yes. The pricing page says there is an iOS and an Android app, and it lists the app on all three individual plans.
Can I get a trial of the paid plans?
The pricing page offers free trials of Plus and Pro, but it does not state how long they last.
Recently verified in Productivity
Add an AGIPicks badge to your site
The badge shows Codecademy’s verification status on AGIPicks and links to this page. Light/dark and compact versions: badges.
Suggest an update
Wrong price, outdated fact or a tool that shut down? Are you the vendor and disagree with this page? Tell us, ideally with a link to the official page. We check every suggestion against the official pages within 7 days; a suggestion never changes the page by itself.