CRM for small business3 tools

AI CRM for a small business

Three CRMs whose official pages describe AI built into the CRM, compared on what the AI does, which plans include it, usage allowances and price. Includes steps to set up Close's AI voice agent.

'AI CRM' is a broad label. On vendor sites it can mean an agent that phones leads, a chatbot that answers website visitors, automatic data capture, or a writing helper for emails. For a small business, the useful questions are narrower. What does the AI actually do? Is it included in the plan you can afford? How is usage counted, and what happens when the allowance runs out? This page compares three CRMs from our catalog whose official pages describe AI features inside the CRM itself. Each fact comes from the vendor's site or help center, checked on October 20, 2026. Nobody at AGIPicks has run these AI features; every description of what they do is the vendor's own. Two tools first proposed for this page were dropped: one describes AI only for writing page content, and the other's feature and pricing pages mention no AI. The steps show how to set up Close's built-in voice agent from a new account.

Last verified Suggest an update

At a glance

Close includes an AI sales agent and monthly AI credits on every plan, including a one-user Solo plan; EngageBay is the only free plan; Salesflare includes its AI features on all per-user plans.

The shortlist

3 tools
  1. Close

    Sales & Lead Generation
    Free trialVerifiedOur pick

    Every plan includes Chloe, an AI sales agent the vendor says can call leads, qualify them, book meetings and update CRM records, plus monthly AI credits starting at 500 per user.

    When to pick it: If phone outreach drives your sales and your contacts are in the US or Canada.

    $19/moTrial: 14-day free trial, no credit card required
  2. Salesflare

    Sales & Lead Generation
    Free trialVerified

    AI features are included on all plans: suggested contacts and accounts from your inbox, follow-up reminders, timeline summaries, a built-in AI assistant and lead scoring.

    When to pick it: If you sell B2B by email and meetings and want the CRM to fill itself in.

    $39/moTrial: 30-day free trial
  3. EngageBay

    Sales & Lead Generation
    Free planVerifiedOur pick

    The free plan includes CRM, email marketing, live chat, a help desk and an AI chatbot trained on your own knowledge base, with 20 AI conversations per month.

    When to pick it: If you want sales, marketing and support in one tool and need a free starting point.

    $14.99/moFree plan

Compared on this task

CriterionCloseSalesflareEngageBayChecked
What the AI does (vendor description)Voice AI agent (Chloe) that calls, qualifies and books meetings; AI lead summaries, email rewrite, enrichment sourceSuggested accounts and contacts, follow-up reminders, timeline summaries, AI assistant, lead scoring sourceAI chatbot trained on your knowledge base, files and links; AI email marketing source
Plans with AIAll plans; Chloe in Workflows from Growth sourceAll plans sourceAll plans, including Free source
AI usage allowance500 / 1,000 / 1,500 / 2,000 AI credits per user per month (Solo to Scale); no rollover; extra credits for sale sourceNot stated on official site20 / 50 / 200 / 500 AI conversations per month (Free, Basic, Growth, Pro) source
Calling and SMSBuilt-in calling and SMS; usage passed through at cost sourceLogs phone calls; a built-in dialer is not stated source15 calling-minute credits on Free; SMS marketing from Basic source
Free plan or trialNo free plan; 14-day free trial, no credit card sourceNo free plan; 30-day free trial, no credit card sourceFree plan, no credit card required; free for up to 15 users source
From (official pricing)Solo $19 per user/month billed monthly; $9 per user/month billed annually sourceGrowth $39 per user/month billed monthly; $29 per user/month billed annually sourceFree $0; Basic $14.99 per user/month on the Monthly tab, $13.79 Yearly, $12.74 Biennial source

Facts from the vendors' official pages, checked on the date in the last column. Prices are what the vendor published on that date.

How to do it

  1. Start a Close trial

    Close offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card. The trial includes $5 of calling and enrichment credits, so you can test calls before choosing a plan.

    Closesource

  2. Connect email and calendar

    Go to Settings > Accounts & Apps, pick your email type and log in to that account. The onboarding guide calls this the key to surfacing communications and activities with each lead.

    Closesource

  3. Set up lead statuses and import data

    Configure lead statuses, custom fields and opportunity statuses first, then import your leads from a file. Close also has importers for moving data from another CRM.

    Closesource

  4. Add a phone number

    Set up a phone number for calling in Close. If you will text US numbers, complete A2P 10DLC registration for an SMS-enabled number.

    Closesource

  5. Create the voice agent

    Open Chloe > Voice Agents and select + New Agent. A 3–5 minute setup call with Chloe collects your business details, the questions to ask and the next steps. Chloe then places a test call to you, and you can give feedback to adjust the prompt.

    Closesource

  6. Review skills and activate

    Configure the pre-selected skills, choose the phone number and the email address for scheduling links, and select Complete setup. Close requires the agent to disclose at the start of every call that it is an AI assistant and that the call is recorded.

    Closesource

Limits and risks

  • Close's help center states that Chloe can only call US and Canadian contacts. source
  • Close AI credits refresh monthly with no rollover. Calling and SMS are billed by usage on top of per-seat prices, and Workflows, including Chloe in Workflows, start at Growth: $109 per user/month billed monthly or $99 billed annually. source
  • EngageBay's Free plan is limited to 250 contacts, 1,000 branded emails, 2 email sequences and 20 AI conversations per month. source
  • EngageBay's price labels are inconsistent: the Monthly tab shows Basic at $14.99 with the label 'per user/month, paid yearly', while the homepage FAQ says paid plans start at $12.74/user/month. source
  • Salesflare has no free plan, and its Enterprise plan requires a minimum of 5 users. source

Frequently asked questions

What is an AI CRM?

Vendors use the term for different things. In this list it means an AI agent that phones leads (Close), automatic data capture with suggestions and summaries (Salesflare), or a chatbot and AI email tools (EngageBay).

Is there a free AI CRM for a small business?

EngageBay has a free plan with CRM, email marketing, live chat, a help desk and 20 AI chatbot conversations per month, limited to 250 contacts. Close and Salesflare offer free trials only, of 14 and 30 days.

How much does an AI CRM cost for a small team?

Close starts at $19 per user/month billed monthly or $9 billed annually (Solo, one user). Salesflare Growth is $39 per user/month billed monthly or $29 billed annually. EngageBay is free, and Basic starts at $12.74 per user/month on biennial billing.

Which option suits a tight budget?

EngageBay's Free plan costs nothing within its limits. Among paid plans, Close Solo is $9 per user/month billed annually but is limited to one user and 10,000 leads, without Workflows.

Who is Close aimed at?

Close's pricing page aims Solo at founders and solo reps, and Essentials at small teams that want one place for calls, emails and deals. Pricing combines seats, usage for calls and SMS, and AI credits.

Suggest an update

Something wrong or missing on this page — a wrong fact, an outdated price, a tool that should be here? Tell us, ideally with a link to the official page. We check every suggestion within 7 days; a suggestion never changes the page by itself.

What is wrong?

For example the new price, the feature that changed, or the tool we should add.

The official page that shows the change.

Only we see it, to reply. It is never published.